The Hazardous Realm
The Hazardous Realm

Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.6.0

All topics related to the game 'Die by the Sword' and it's add-on 'Limb from Limb' go into this board!

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Hazard » 02 Nov 2009 01:26

d3x0r wrote:Just for grins I did use the dx web updater... it didn't do anything (since I had already updated with the full download).

I have VS2010 Beta 2 installed... which gives me .NET 4.0 (which of course includes .NET 3.51 SP1 )


The .Net Framework 4.0 is not based on the older frameworks. It is possible that VS2010 comes with with a current version of 3.5 because you can target older frameworks with it too, but i won't guarantee that.
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby d3x0r » 02 Nov 2009 07:48

Okay even so... I had 3.51 sp1 installed a long time ago... I like keeping up to date with things. Wonder if ti's also casue of the 3d Vision IR Emitter... just had another problem with another game that it didn't like...

Nope, unplugging that didn't help the looping sounds, and unresponsive menus :(
d3x0r
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 16:02

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Hazard » 02 Nov 2009 09:32

d3x0r wrote:Nope, unplugging that didn't help the looping sounds, and unresponsive menus :(


But you do see the graphics and get no crashings anymore? If yes, try keep moving the mouse all the time while being in the menus. There's a bug in DbtS that will will only animate menus while moving the mouse on new windows versions. I hope to find a way to fix it sometime.
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby d3x0r » 02 Nov 2009 12:50

Ya, after updating DirectX to aug-2008 redistributable I stopped getting a crash. (I later had to update to aug-2009 for another program) ...

But, moving the mouse doesn't help... just goes 'kerchang kerchang kerchang....' or something like that... and if I hit ctrl-alt-delete to bring up that back system-screen that has start task manager, it updates so I get the menu... maybe it's a lack of WM_PAINT messages... vista seems to do things just a little differently than XP in that regard... but once I get itmes on the menu, I can click on them and they highlight, but nothing actually happens - unless I hit ctrl-alt-delete again. But... I note that is' also not running xwindie.exe it's runnint just windie.exe... (xlauncher that is)
d3x0r
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 16:02

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby VanBurenPhilips » 20 Nov 2009 15:05

Hi, and thanks a lot to Hazard and the rest of the community for keeping this game alive. Nice to see it on GOG too.

I was going to ask for help getting the new graphics modes to work, but I figured it out (I had to re-enable 3D detection within the game) so this is now just a "thank you" post. :)
VanBurenPhilips
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 Nov 2009 14:46

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Cpk » 23 Jan 2010 11:21

First of all, thanks Hazard! I never imagine a new MOD would be released in this time.

Xtended's hi-resorution mode gives DbtS a breath of fresh air. Now it has very smooth shape. I play the game again and it's still fun and unique. GOG sells the game with LFL so most of people who bought the pack WILL recieve much benefit from the MOD.

So I have one request for the future update, I don't know if it's technically possible or not. It is increase of fps. DbtS is kinda rough on fps issue and it's hard to trace swings of the sword continuously through my eyes. I guess it would be difficult to change the core of VSIM, but Is it a practicable thing?

[Edited]
I have got a trouble. I could play the game though xLauncher.exe at the first, but now my PC sometimes reboots when I click "Launch Game" or enter the game rendered in 3D. It sometimes occurs on DirectX3D9 both with 1680*1050 and 640*480, both on window and fullscreen. Everytime Windows tries to check file system on the drive on which DbtS is installed after the crush(it takes a few minutes).

I don't kow how to change the render engine after I have clicked the "don't show again" so I didn't test them.

The crush will happen when xLauncher.exe freezes after "Launch Game". It seems to happen after I use some applications(browser, texteditor and music player etc.), not sure.

Now I'm very afraid to start Xtended... Any solution?


My PC(not Notebook)
- WindowsXP SP3 (the latest update)
- Athron64 3000+
- 1 GB memory
- Geforce N7600GS
- .NET Frameworks 3.5
- the latest DirectX Update

xwindie.XRAPI.log
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - Initializing XRAPI v1.00 BETA
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - INIT!
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - Loading plugins now...
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - DONE!
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - rlapiInitLibrary: xrld3d9.dll
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - Loading render library 'xrld3d9.dll' ...
2010-01-25 20:43:35 - DONE!

xrld3d9.log
2010-01-25 20:43:36 f0 - Initializing DbtS Xtended Direct3D9 Engine v1.01 (640x480)!
2010-01-25 20:43:39 f0 - ResetTextures
Cpk
Kobold
Kobold
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 17:10
Location: Japan

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Lord Kingravel » 02 Feb 2010 13:07

Hello to all of you! Hello Hazard!
I discovered this fantastic mod today and I am amazed by the graphical enhancements on the screenshots. But, unfortunately, I am not able to start the game. I installed everything as described in the readme, updated everything.
If I start the launcher, I can configure everything, but when I try to push "Launch Game" nothing happens... however, I can start the normal game by deactivating the mod. I figured out, that it doesn't even work, if I try to start xwindie.exe directly in the folder. It just happens nothing, no error, no crashes, nothing... :(
Back in the old days, I loved this game very much for its combat system... I would like to play it again in 32 bit (the dithering-issues on modern graphiccards are terrible...)...
Lord Kingravel
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Feb 2010 13:00

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby Hazard » 08 Feb 2010 01:57

NEW VERSION:

Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Changes in Version 1.02:
- Fixed the annoying menu animation game bug. No need to keep the mouse moving anymore.
- Fixed the black screen bug on some graphics cards (mostly older Intel onboard cards)
- xrld3d9.log also logs game errors now
- Improved stability (Alt+Tab out of fullscreen mode does not crash anymore, etc.)

@Cpk: The game is indeed limited to just 20 FPS. I do not think that i'm able to do anything about it, because the game most likely hasn't got any way to handle frame timing and thus would just run faster if you remove the limit. But i'll take a look at it sometime.
Try to update your graphics driver to fix your crashing problems. Graphics drivers are the reason for 90% of all total system crashes. I do not see anything special about DbtS Xtended that would lead to such crashes. Yet it should be impossible for any kind of application to cause such extreme crashes, as long as drivers and hardware are fine and you use a modern operating system.

@Lord Kingravel: Are you sure that you've installed all the requirements? Did you activate Xtended in the options of the launcher? If yes, are there any log files being generated in the DbtS folder?
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby Raptor » 08 Feb 2010 08:59

You are awesome. Such a dead community and yet you still update. I'm impressed. Will download later tomorrow night and give you my thoughts.
Raptor
Kobold
Kobold
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Jul 2008 07:54

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby Lord Kingravel » 08 Feb 2010 11:59

Hi Hazard!
I installed everything twice and downloaded both the last and the new version of your patch. It's very strange, for on my laptop it works flawlessly. If "run Xtended version" is enabled on my desktop-pc however, it doesn't run at all. It happens just nothing. Without it enabled, the classic version starts. It seems to be an issue with the xwindie.exe on my desktop-computer (Q9550, ATI 4890, 3.25 GB ram, Win XP Professional): There happens nothing if I click on it manually. Strange indeed, for it works on the laptop.
Last edited by Lord Kingravel on 10 Feb 2010 13:00, edited 1 time in total.
Lord Kingravel
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Feb 2010 13:00

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby the thing 5632 » 08 Feb 2010 16:48

oh...my..god

hey guys.after a looong,really really loong time,im back =p

i lost my dbts lfl,then i found and downloaded again after a long time,
i downloaded the something like a new version of xtended,and now its working!!
ommfgg
really its sooooo awesome
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby the thing 5632 » 08 Feb 2010 16:54

and....
can you guys help me?
i forgot how to get the downloaded\custom maps to work =p
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby Hazard » 09 Feb 2010 16:15

the thing 5632 wrote:and....
can you guys help me?
i forgot how to get the downloaded\custom maps to work =p


You have to put the ATD file of the map into the data folder and pack the EVT file into the scenes.atd package. My maps contained in the Modpack are compatible with the Modmanager included in the Xtended Launcher and thus are easy to install.
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby udm » 10 Feb 2010 03:15

Good to see the new version of Xtended released :)
udm
Kobold
Kobold
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 22 Mar 2009 19:30

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.02

Postby MelDoRg » 10 Feb 2010 21:40

Hey nice work Hazard!We appreciate it. -) But i am playing MnB Warband now. Will test it a little bit later.

I heard somewhere here that someone was trying to combine MnB and DbtS. Does anybody know smth about that?
MelDoRg
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 09 Nov 2008 19:28

PreviousNext

Return to 'Die by the Sword' Fan and Modding Community



cron