The Hazardous Realm
The Hazardous Realm

Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.6.0

All topics related to the game 'Die by the Sword' and it's add-on 'Limb from Limb' go into this board!

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Hazard » 11 Aug 2009 16:57

the thing 5632 wrote::lol: it looks FANTASTIC but i cant get it to work! :cry:
plz help me,i have the latest direct x,net framework 2.0 and 3.5 and when i start the game on xlauncher my pc crashes!
and if i start the game at xwindie all i see its a black screen :|


Your whole PC crashes? :shock: Or just the game? Is there any "xrld3d9.log" or "xwindie.XRAPI.log" file in your DbtS directory? Please post their contents here if they exist.


the thing 5632 wrote:sry for my engish

Your english is fine. Many people here aren't native english speakers anyway (me included). No need to be perfect. :D
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby the thing 5632 » 12 Aug 2009 02:45

yep,if i open the xlauncher and click on launch game my pc crashes :(

and yes it haves .log things


xrld3d9.log -

2009-08-11 10:36:35 f0 - Initializing DbtS Xtended Direct3D9 Engine v1.01 (640x480)!
2009-08-11 10:36:36 f0 - ResetTextures

xwindie.xrapi.log

2009-08-11 10:38:33 - Initializing XRAPI v1.00 BETA
2009-08-11 10:38:33 - INIT!
2009-08-11 10:38:33 - Loading plugins now...
2009-08-11 10:38:33 - DONE!


thx for the help :|
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby the thing 5632 » 12 Aug 2009 04:58

AH!
and when i open with xwindie i can hear the sword sound when you click on something,like if its on the game,but its all black
:?:
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Hazard » 12 Aug 2009 05:14

the thing 5632 wrote:AH!
and when i open with xwindie i can hear the sword sound when you click on something,like if its on the game,but its all black
:?:


Hm, is it a Notebook or a Desktop PC? I had a similar problem while testing it on a Notebook with intel graphics chip (without the crashing though). I wasn't able to identify the source of the problem during the tests back then, but stopped investigating it because noone else had an issue like this. Seems like it is not solely a problem on my side after all. I'll continue the investigation on this issue now.
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby the thing 5632 » 12 Aug 2009 06:36

its not a notebook,its pc windows xp..
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby the thing 5632 » 12 Aug 2009 06:52

here is some screens of the MISTERY

teh xlauncher options...

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/5636/semttuloigd.png

opening with xwindie (because if i open with the xlauncher my pc goes boom)

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/1985/semttulo2vyi.png

and them .. :cry:

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/9851/semttulo3vbn.png

the image stay like this,but the game opens,you can hear the sound etc...

:(
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby udm » 13 Aug 2009 09:17

Try setting refresh rate to 60mhz and resolution to 1024x768 and see if it works.
udm
Kobold
Kobold
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 22 Mar 2009 19:30

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby the thing 5632 » 13 Aug 2009 10:19

i did unistall and install the game again and.. :mrgreen:




nothing :|



and changing the 60mhz and resolution to 1024x768 didn't work too...
the thing 5632
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 14:21

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby udm » 01 Sep 2009 14:30

Hey hazard how's things?
udm
Kobold
Kobold
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 22 Mar 2009 19:30

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Dave » 12 Sep 2009 00:36

Damn, I have really gotta get back into this. It's been so long!
Hi to all, old and new. :D
Dave
DbtS Veteran
DbtS Veteran
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 Apr 2006 01:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby nuthriz » 18 Oct 2009 20:38

Unfortunately, I have the very same issue as "the thing 5632".
This only occurs when selecting the "Direct 3D 9 Engine (new)". When selesting the "Direct 3D 5 Engine (original)", the game runs quite fine except weird graphical glitches - the screen gets blurry with black shapes from lava (on the "lava pit" arena) and from every damn moving piece of floor (on that fuzzy random-lifting arena, don't exactly recall the name now).

When choosing the glidewrapper solution I obviously get some message that sth of that is missing (as I've got no glidewrapper whatsoever - oh well, quite obvious).

...And when choosing the software rendering, everything's fine (well, except I don't get to enjoy all that new-and-nice-visuals thing :P).

[I've previously said that the Xtended doesn't work for me - and that remains true on Win2000, but especially for this thing I've just upgraded one of my machines to WinXP, and thanks to that I'm reporting all this :P. Big Thanks for everything and, of course, I'd greatly appreciate any help on the matters aforementioned ;).]

[Should this be of any value, I've currently got GeForce 4 MX 440 64MB.]
nuthriz
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Oct 2009 23:44

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby nuthriz » 19 Oct 2009 15:20

I don't know exactly how, but somehow I got the "Direct 3D 5 Engine (original)" mode to run properly. Well, the game shows an error on exit - but that's just a very, very minor nuisance. So now I probably don't have all the quality of "Direct 3D 9", but at least the game runs smoothly - and that's fine by me. [The change may have occured due to my little reinstallation of graphics card drivers - I've upgraded them with the up-to-date (well, almost) nvidia "forceware", then downgraded back to 44.03 (as they've proven themselves far more stable many times already).

Thanks again for all your work; now just a bunch of tips on mapmaking from you, and I'll be all happy hoppin' :P.
nuthriz
Peasant
Peasant
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Oct 2009 23:44

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby d3x0r » 01 Nov 2009 16:12

This would be really really cool... but, Xlauncher runs, and I get to select some options, but when I tried to click launch, originally the game just crashed. Then, I updated to Aug-2008 Dx9 sdk, and it still didn't work, then I updated to Aug-2009 Dx9 sdk, and xlauncher runs windie.exe... but all I get is the continual clashing of sword sound. Then I hit ctrl-alt-delete, and cancel, and I it updates the menu, and I click on things, but all I get is the thing selected sound (quit, tutorial, otpions, whatever)... Then... if i hit ctrl-alt-delete and cancel again, it seems to activate the menu option.... OH, and the mouse is trapped in the window, and I can't hit alt-tab or anything... only choice is really to start task manager, and kill it... (I guess I can click on quit, and then do the ctrl-alt-delete trick...)

This is Vista64.

Uhmm... I ran xwindie.exe by hand, and It used to ask me which driver to use, but I clicked the 'don't ask me again' option, and now I can't choose dx5 to see if that would work, but, I can't get to options to re-set that either, cause xwindie just crashes.. it looks like in an interlocked-exchange sorta call.. it's passed a NULL pointer. It does popup with the debugger, and that was what led me to installing updated directX... cause it was crashing in nvd3dum.dll something....



xwindie.XRAPI.log

2009-11-01 07:00:06 - Initializing XRAPI v1.00 BETA
2009-11-01 07:00:06 - INIT!
2009-11-01 07:00:06 - Loading plugins now...
2009-11-01 07:00:06 - DONE!
2009-11-01 07:00:10 - rlapiInitLibrary: xrld3d9.dll
2009-11-01 07:00:10 - Loading render library 'xrld3d9.dll' ...
2009-11-01 07:00:10 - DONE!

xrld3d9.log

2009-11-01 07:00:11 f0 - Initializing DbtS Xtended Direct3D9 Engine v1.01 (1024x768)!
2009-11-01 07:00:12 f0 - ResetTextures


Uhmm... Help!?
d3x0r
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 16:02

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby Hazard » 01 Nov 2009 16:42

d3x0r wrote: then I updated to Aug-2009 Dx9 sdk


Installing some DirectX SDK does not guarantee that you get all required libraries. You have to use the DirectX Web Updater to ensure that all DirectX libraries are present.

If it does not help, then you may try to install the .Net Framework 3.5 ServicePack1.
Link
- < !!! Be Hazardous !!! > -
User avatar
Hazard
Hazardous Code Monkey
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 05 Jan 2006 19:49

Re: Die by the Sword - Xtended v1.01

Postby d3x0r » 01 Nov 2009 22:55

Just for grins I did use the dx web updater... it didn't do anything (since I had already updated with the full download).

I have VS2010 Beta 2 installed... which gives me .NET 4.0 (which of course includes .NET 3.51 SP1 )
d3x0r
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 16:02

PreviousNext

Return to 'Die by the Sword' Fan and Modding Community